Big Buns

logo.jpg

Today for lunch I ventured into a place I had never gone before: Big Buns Gourmet Grill. Hidden in the courtyard of an office complex, it just opened about two weeks ago, and is the only one of its kind (so far). Combining the elements of Potbellys and Chipotle, the establishment lets you custom build four items: a angus beef burger, marinated chicken, mahi mahi, or portobello mushroom. You can get any thing with a bun or as bowl (a salad). Options include toppings, sauces, and cheese, as well as shakes, and fries (including sweet potato fries!).

I had passed the venue a week earlier, and checked out the website. It was pretty well laid out in simple format, but best of all had a theme song, which kicks ass. Listen to the song, and tell me you would turn down Big Buns. It sounded like the owner himself sang the song, so I half exepected to see him serving me the food. Alas, he did not seem to be there.

The line was out the door when I arrived, but I decided to wait it out. I ordered a burger (with a bun), bacon, chedder cheese, mushrooms, lettuce, tomato, and a coke. The cashier handed me a number with a stand, and I sat at a table waiting for for my food. The food took a little under 5 minutes to arrive, and checked out the scene inside. I noticed all the girls bringing food over wore shirts that said “I like Big Buns and I Cannot Lie” on the back. In addition, there were shirts available for sale – clearly even though the venue just opened they are trying to do some self marketing. Finally my food arrived, and I realized regrettably I had forgetten to order the fries, but I guess there is always next time.

Now to the burger. I had two sauces, the Chipotle Pesto Aioli and Ranch, and tried each of them separately on the burger. The Chipotle sauce was good, but left me wanting a bit more. The Angus beef was definitely quality, but overall, while the burger was good and satisfying, I really wondered what amde it unique. A Chipotle burrito has a very distinct flavor, as does Five Guys (even if that distinct flavor is one of grease). I probably could not tell the difference between this burger and that of Front Page nearby, which I guess is both a good and bad thing. I aim to try some of the other food options soon and try to see how they turn out. One can also get refills, and while I went up to refill my Coke, I noticed that they had syrups available. So I poured some Sprite in my cup and added some cherry syrup, which was good until someone pointed out I had basically just made Shirley Temple, at which point I clealry felt like a tool.

The other attraction apparently was this girl who sat at the table next to me. She was one of those universally good looking people that could do no wrong. She had dark hair, cut short, with dark eyes and a Meg Ryan complexion. About 5’9″ with a volleyball player’s build and lankiness, wearing white pants and a bright blue tube top. So I guess subtly attractive? She had a boyfriend, sitting with her, but everytime she got up to get a drink refill, sauce, or napkins, I swear every guy in the place looked up from their food, stopped their conversation, and turned their head following her every move. So, yes, sometimes it is all about the buns, afterall.

Leave a Reply

