Screen on the Green

Ever since having the pleasure of watching Rocky last year, I was sold on Screen on the Green down on the National Mall. There is something uniquely gratifying being able to picnic on the grass with a view of the Capitol, and while sipping red wine from a Nalgene, watch some (overtly racist) 1950’s Looney Tunes short and then a full feature on on an outdoor screen. Not to mention my favorite part, standing up and doing the ridiculous dance everyone does as the introductory music for the film is playing. The DC community tends to remain diseperate (save for all the kickball and softball going on) and its cool to see the (white 25-year old) community bonding for those few hours.

This Monday kicked off the summer series, which includes Casablanca, All The King’s Men,and The Thing. But today was Annie Hall, probably the classic Woody Allen Movie. Filled with one liners (ex. “My grammy never gave gifts. She was too busy getting raped by Cossacks”), it follows Alvey and his exploits with Annie (and several other women), to whom he interestingly enough never says “I love you” in the entire film (although he does say, “Love is not a strong enough word to describe how I feel”). It does lag at times (the California scenes could have been shortened) but all in all it is entertaining.

Anyway, I forgot that Paul Simon had a cameo and Christopher Walken played Annie’s brother. I am a big Walken fan – his mannerisms and way with words can make anyone laugh (at him? with him?) – but in Annie Hall he has the awkward role down perfectly. Woody Allen’s character is called into his room at night and the following exchange takes place:

Duane: Can I confess something? I tell you this as an artist,I think you’ll understand. Sometimes when I’m driving… on the road at night… I see two headlights coming toward me. Fast. I have this sudden impulse to turn the wheel quickly, head-on into the oncoming car. I can anticipate the explosion. The sound of shattering glass. The… flames rising out of the flowing gasoline…

Alvy Singer: Right. Well, I have to – I have to go now, Duane, because I… I’m due back on the planet Earth.

He later suffers through Duane at the steering wheel, a look of impending doom etched on his face the entire ride. Classic.

Anyway, thought I would provide some Walken highights, DC style:

Leave a Reply

