Friends in High and Low Places

I seem to be attracting a lot of random Facebook friends these days. A couple of days ago I saw that one of my Facebook friends added photos. I had a vague recollection of accepting a Facebook friend request a long time ok from this girl, who I was pretty sure I did not know, but as this was in the nasence of social networking I thought I might as well add her. She seemed harmless enough anyway, going to a Midwest school and occasionally sending out Biblical newsletters, listing Jesus Christ as an interest and passages as favorite quotes. In fact, I’m pretty sure this is the only friend I do not know – trust me, the last thing I want Facebook to become is MySpace. But she did look cute, so yeah, she was added.

Anyway, the point is when I curiously clicked on the photo update this was what came up:

n17101851_32799107_4356.jpg

Yes, that is Paris Hilton (looking quite drunk may I add). The caption reads “At Area Night Club… with Paris! We were dancing by her table and she actually got up and danced in the middle of us for a bit!”

Furthermore, I found this photo of her and Nick Lachey and Vanessa Milano:

n17101851_32799042_3562.jpg

So, moral of story here is, it seems like the girl with a Bible-verse-a-day widget enjoys partying it up in LA…interesting indeed. I’m not a deeply religious man but if she can get me into these clubs I’ll swear by anything…

Sunday I got another random Facebook friend request from the girl below:

n619633942_4687.jpg

I couldn’t think whether I kenw this person or not, since the pic was pretty standard (I mean girls with dyed blonde hair all look similar at some point anyway) so I checked out her profile. Her interests were pretty nondescript – Angels and Demons as favorite book, horseback riding as a hobby, “Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the number of moments that take our breath away…” as a quote…So I clicked on the web site listed on her profile.

Yeah, pictures of her naked. Pretty sure that I did not know this person. Neither, I would think, the thirty people who accepted her as a friend that day. Still confused why and how I was chosen to be her friend..a bit more alarmed than flattered I must admit.

Finally, today I recieved a request from a girl in Germany, who claims she is moving to the US and wants someone to chat with. I was guessing this is spam, but it actually seems like she is telling the truth and moving to the DC area….but still. Why me? and who the hell does that? I don’t mind making my profile public (I really have little content of interest to anyone on there) but if I continue to attract such strange friend offers, I may have to reconsider…

One response to “Friends in High and Low Places

  1. Dude, You sound on Social Network FIRE!! Funny Story, I have been trying to set my roommate up with a buddy’s fiance’s coworker. I actually joined facebook just to see what she looked like. She was pretty hot but this dumb girl got all cold feet about a blind date and we never were able to meet as a group yet. Yesterday, I logged into Facebook and she has changed her profile to, “In a relationship.” DOH! Over before it started. My roommate is crushed! J/K

    Love your blog and takes on DC. Keep it up. Mac G

Leave a Reply

