On the Road with Pat Neshek

Sometimes it is hard to see life through the eyes of a major league baseball player, which is why Pat Neshek (of my favorite team, the Twins) has a kickass blog, On The Road with Pat Neshek.

 Here is a sample:

August 16th, 2007

In Seattle Ramon Ortiz asked me if I wanted to meet up with him to eat dinner at Benihana’s the first night we were in town.  I quickly accepted remembering the last time we ate there in Detroit.  I think there were about 10 of us and it was quite the sight!  Carlos Silva bet me he could eat more than anyone else including me and I was up for the challenge.  Word of advice, don’t ever bet Silva when it comes to eating…oh my.  Silva and Ortiz let everyone pick what they wanted to eat because they were buying and we spared no mercy.  In all my life I have never seen a mountain of rice as big as what was on that Benihana stove.  I hung in there long enough but couldn’t make it to the steak after devouring everything thrown at me including shrimp, chicken, scallops, three bowls of rice, a salad, soup and probably a bunch more stuff that I forgot about after I went into a coma from eating so much food.  Silva kicked everyone’s butt eating a record 5 orders of rice and everything I ate including the steak and other’s leftovers…I now crown him the eating champ of the team.  Anyways Ortiz and I tried to do the same Detroit feast again in Seattle but we didn’t make it too far…2 rice bowls and the normal, shrimp, steak and chicken…I barely made it through!

Speaking of baseball cards listen to what we get to do next week in Baltimore.  The MLBPA is sponsoring a box breaking for anyone on our team that wants to go.  From what I hear Topps and Upper Deck have donated tons of stuff for us to open…basically a box of every brand for each guy that comes including the insane Topps Triple Threads (nearly a case per guy).  I’m pretty excited and will def be bringing my camera to see what kind of crazy stuff I can find.  The whole event is going to be broadcast either on MLB.com or ESPN sometime in September so I’ll have to let everyone know more once I find out.  I’m guessing about 15-20 guys on the team will participate in it.    

Pretty interesting, huh?  I just wonder why Silva is eating so much food…he seems on a roll lately (here are his last three starts) – let’s see what he does tonight with all that rice.

Date Opponent Score

Dec

IP

H

R

ER

HR

BB

K

 

W

L

SV

IP

ERA

 

 Aug 11 @ LAA L 3-4

7.0

2

0

0

0

0

2

 

9

12

0

150.2

4.30

 

 Aug 6 CLE L 0-4

L

7.0

6

2

2

1

1

6

 

9

12

0

143.2

4.51

 

 Jul 31 KAN W 5-3

W

8.0

7

2

2

2

0

3

 

9

11

0

136.2

4.61

*UPDATE*

It seems to have worked…

Date Opponent Score

Dec

IP

H

R

ER

HR

BB

K

 

W

L

SV

IP

ERA

 

 Aug 17 TEX W 2-1

7.0

5

1

1

1

1

6

 

9

12

0

157.2

4.17

Leave a Reply

