DC Education

I totally missed the boat on getting word out for this, but…

Congratulations to Jason Crawford, a classmate of mine at Georgetown who ran a spirited campaign for a seat on the DC Board of Education, although he did not prevail.  I can only imagine how hard it is to get a campaign going so quickly, so I think the 22% he garnered is impressive.  I know he will continue to be a strong advocate for improving our school system, and I am sure he will be a force for change…

Here is his website, and his press statement:

Dear friends and supporters,

As many of you may have already learned by now, we have heard the results, and unfortunately we did not win.

We earmed about 22% of the vote, and considering that I was a write-in candidate, I think that is a pretty strong showing. I was especially glad to see that we actually won a couple of the precincts and did best in the areas where the schools have struggled most. Maria and I spent a lot of time talking with families in neighborhoods we felt were the most neglected, and hearing stories from parents about how they felt the system neglected their children’s special needs only fueled our determination to see this important campaign through.

I always knew it was a long shot for us to win this, but I felt this would be a unique opportunity to work with the DC Board of Education during a time of such critical importance and rapid change. I am proud of us for giving this a good run. We went from being below the radar to having radio and newspaper interviews across the city. Despite the media coverage, we were unable to reach a wide enough audience to announce our candidacy. In the end, not enough people knew about our campaign to write us in.

While I may have lost this first battle to work alongside the Board of Education, I still remain as passionate as ever to improve the DC schools system. On Monday morning, the school year begins, and I will work hard for my students and their parents, ensuring that they get the education they deserve. Yet I refuse to be limited by just the students in my classroom. I plan to contact Mary Lord, and I will be involved as a citizen-advocate! If you too want to stay involved with these issues, then I encourage you to contact me and together we can fight for a better DC Public Schools system.

Finally, I want to thank all of you who helped out with the campaign. Without the help of friends contacting newspapers and handing out fliers, we would not have gotten as far as we did! Thank you for all your support and encouragement. It meant so much to me, and makes me believe that with a little more time, we could win this election next time around!

Sincerely,

Jason Crawford

Leave a Reply

